top of page

Assignment 26: Mentorship Reflection

This mentorship has been the polishing tool that I needed at the end of my highschool career. From it I have gained many necessary real world skills; time management, communication, work ethic and self confidence.

Being extremely independent in my mentorship helped me to understand what it takes to be in a leadership position. Everything you wish to be accomplished comes down to how hard you are willing to work for it. Working with the administration at the high school also helped me to understand that the vision you have may have to come to a compromise, but all things that are approved are a blessing. I am proud of myself for having the confidence to reach out and host meetings with people that are more knowledgeable than me and learn from them.

The networking I have done throughout my internship will be career long connections that I have for the future. The skills I have obtained could not have been better learned than through this experience.

This internship has changed my view about this field by gaining this understanding: working in a non-profit is a lot of hard work, psychically and emotional, with little tangible return on investment, but the reward is worth every minute.

My advice to future students would be to pick an internship that you are really passionate about or think you may want to continue in. It will give you a realistic glimpse into how that career functions and then you can decide wether or not that is for you. Either way, work hard, be open minded and have fun.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page